Do YOU Have a Reliable Back-up?

So now that I have a new phone, I mean, er, now that the princess has received her replacement phone…it’s time to begin the tedious process of manually reconstructing my Contacts list – phone numbers and e-mail addresses at a minimum. I have resigned myself to having lost all of the meticulously noted nuances in each entry, including tidbits like where and when I met folks, mailing addresses, etc. All of this could’ve been avoided if I wasn’t such a conspiracy theorist regarding aggregated data collection, didn’t have deep-seated but perhaps slightly unfounded apocalyptic suspicions surrounding  “the cloud,” etc. and had just backed up my data.

The helpful lady at the cell phone store reminded me of this. So did my husband and technology-progressive children. So did the man at the battery store where I went to see if the old phone’s warped, swollen battery could be recharged to hold a charge long enough for me to download the Smart Switch app so I could upload my data wirelessly to the new phone…after 30 minutes of charging the battery on his charger, I was at 50% and on a race against time. I was foiled by not having internet access…apparently since the old SIM card had been deactivated; so complicated.

Taunted by wistful thoughts of “why, oh why am I in this quandary of a predicament? if only I had saved it to The Cloud instead of my device, thinking it was more secure,” I remembered the flip side: that this is a way to have a fresh and clean start. Uncluttered and unencumbered by accumulation of years of data that – for the most part – I rarely accessed. As I sit in NC on the eve of Hurricane Florence approaching my community, I am reminded that Jesus is the most dependable back-up, and I must completely, totally, and wholly rely upon Him. Every day. No matter what. Because He is consistently faithful and never fails. Which is more than I can say for man’s technology…(sigh).

Praying that everyone affected by this hurricane season stays safe…feel free to e-mail me your contact info if you’d like to keep in touch. Stay blessed and encouraged!

“It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.”
(Psalm 118:8)

“In the fear of the Lord is strong confidence: and his children shall have a place of refuge.”
(Proverbs 14:26)

© Copyright 2018 by Kayren J. Cathcart

Leave a comment