Anniversary Eve: So Many Reasons to Celebrate!

Tomorrow (12/16) is my 9th wedding anniversary, and geez, am I excited!  God has brought us a mighty long way (did I mention LONNNNG?) – both as a couple and as individuals.  I have much to be thankful for in the areas of growth, development, and maturity.  And I’ve learned a LOT (because someone forgot to slip me the “Perfect Wife Manual” though I’ve been searching for it, to no avail).  However, I digress…

After work, I picked up the children as I usually do, but made a quick detour to my favorite nail shop before heading home. My eyebrows were long and bushy beyond belief, and I figured I’d better start now on my efforts to get incrementally “gussied up” for my anniversary trip this weekend.  The pizza store in the same strip mall with the nail shop was offering a large pizza for $4.44, which I couldn’t pass up.  Not because it was their anniversary special (50 years in business – hey, I’ll raise a slice to that!), but because I thought me not cooking tonight was a perfectly fitting start to our own anniversary celebration.  Plus, if I wasn’t cooking, I could get started earlier on washing and roller setting my hair (just saved at LEAST $10 – cha-ching!).  I picked up 2 pizzas.

Since we stopped at McDonald’s to pick up the “2-fer” special (you remember – 2 fries, 2 burgers, 2 bucks – yes, it was December 2000) on the way to our honeymoon (with leftovers from the reception neatly wrapped in the backseat), I figured that pizza nine years later was an upgrade.  My hubby agreed and was glad to have the pizza when he arrived home from work (better than tuna noodle pasta, which he is increasingly shunning over the years – I guess his palate has become more cultured?).  Nevertheless, a good time was had by all – especially the children.  Simple pleasures.  Enjoying the company of those you love.  That’s what it’s really about anyway.  And good pizza, of course…and not cooking…

© Copyright 2009 by Kayren J. Cathcart

“But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.  To him be glory both now and for ever.  Amen.”

(II Peter 3:18)

Leave a Reply

