O Christmas Tree: A Matter of Perspective

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

I’m looking at the most exquisite Christmas tree ever – not because it’s elaborate, expensive, or customized, because it’s none of those things.  The reason is because it’s an expression of our family’s love, togetherness, and building our own traditions.  Personally, I could do without the tree (since I believe Christmas is birthed in our hearts 24/7, not just during this season), but I was vetoed 3-1, so we have a tree and some lights.  I even broke down and spent $1 on some red and green gel clings that I enthusiastically added to the sliding glass door in the kitchen.  Cheery.  When I tried to peel them off the plastic transfer sheet, I realized why they were only $1…grrrr!  But it’s for the children, right? 

Back to the tree.  To me, it first appeared unplanned, un-color coordinated, and not monochromatic (what can I say? I love simple white lights).  Yet, to my 4 and 6 year-old munchkins beaming with pride that their decorations have completed this year’s tree, it’s nothing short of a masterpiece.  It is colorful, bearing the imprint, insignia, fingerprint, and signature of each of their unique personalities expressed through original ornaments made at school.  My husband even added my daughter’s Rudolph (complete with sparkly red puffball nose) to the tree, which is twice the size of all the other ornaments (including the star).  Now I don’t recall why we didn’t have a star last year, but the one my hubby found and nestled among the top branches was a great crowning glory.  As he snores away, I’m enjoying his handiwork with a smile of admiration.  And I reminisce with fond memories of my own first handmade ornament – a spectacular popsicle stick glitter glue-covered Star of David…I’ll bet my mom still has it…somewhere.

On second thought, I think our tree is perfect – just like they do.  🙂

© Copyright 2009 by Kayren J. Cathcart

“For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.”

(Isaiah 9:6)

One thought on “O Christmas Tree: A Matter of Perspective

  1. This is a late response. I will be keeping up with your blog now that I have found it. My husband and I have just shared our 37th Christmas together. Our tree has been decorated with ornaments of love and memories from the same box every single year. I look forward to opening my ornament box that has grown from a small box to a huge green and red crate, but the ornaments are a special treasure to me. They don’t have a “theme” just lots of love and handmade collections from the years from my family and my precious children. And if something’s missing my sons ages 34, 31, & 21 remind me. I am happy to say that they too enjoy the traditions and now share them with their families.

    I love it. I must be doing something right. We had a wonderful (but cold) Christmas.

Leave a Reply

